Thursday, June 15: Coyote Ridge Trail

Distance: 4.2 miles

Elevation Gain: 600 ft.

Trail: Natural/Dirt

Land Status: Public/Managed by the city of Fort Collins

Difficulty: Moderate due to incline

IMG_6632

My favorite part of this hike happened on my hike back down, when a mountain biker passed me while belting out a song at the top of his lungs in what I think was Spanish, in a jolly sing-songy way. So random.

My new commute to work is long, but I am so lucky that there are so many open spaces and trails between home and work. Today on the way home from work I decided to stop at Coyote Ridge to do a short hike. I used to frequent this trail when I was in undergrad as it was a favorite running route, but I certainly did not feel up to running it this time (we’ll say it’s because I haven’t yet adjusted to the altitude here…). However, it served as a beautiful place for an evening hike. I saw so much wildlife, including mule deer and many bunnies, along with a really beautiful, small, bright blue bird. I forgot how challenging the trail could be on the way out, as it is uphill with some pretty loose/rocky trail sections. At the top there is such a beautiful overlook of Fort Collins in one direction and more open space in the other direction with more connecting trails.

Leave a Reply

