Thursday, May 25: Nature Center at Shaker Lakes to Upper Shaker Lake, Shaker Heights

1236749_10200337275226581_657892475_n

A photo of the boardwalk in the evening, from August 2013

This is hands down my favorite place within five miles of our apartment. Since I moved to Cleveland I have frequented these trails for running, evening walks, and a place to go and think while enjoying nature. David and I have spotted herons many times, seen turtles napping on logs, along with a few deer sightings. This area was almost ruined in the 1960s when a proposed highway was going to be built, and I am forever grateful that local residents organized and fought the highway. Today I went out for a short, a little under two mile walk in the rain. I saw two herons competing for space on the lake and enjoyed the peaceful sound of the rain falling as I walked along the trails.

Leave a Reply

