Thursday, May 18: Hemlock to Deer Lick Cave Loop Trail, Brecksville Reservation

This was my first time hiking at the Brecksville Reservation. There seemed to be a variety of trails in terms of difficulty level, trail surface, and scenery. I did a big loop of the park, passing the lovely Chippewa Creek Gorge overlook and the nature center. I was supposed to pass the Deer Lick Cave, but I got turned around and did the loop incorrectly, and was never quite able to find the cave. I did however take what I now assume to be an old trail that kind of fades away, with really old markers that probably weren’t supposed to be up anymore, down a hill which turned into a scramble to find a way down through the weeds (poison ivy?!) and a small creek. It turned out fine, and was quite the adventure. Overall the hike was a little over 4 miles, and I would definitely come back again!

Leave a Reply

